Cary Lenehan

Cary Lenehan
Cary Lenehan

Cary Lenehan is a former trades assistant, soldier, public servant, cab driver, truck driver, game designer, fishmonger, horticulturalist and university tutor – among other things. His hobbies include collecting and reading books (the non-fiction are Dewey decimalised), Tasmanian native plants (particularly the edible ones), medieval re-creation and gaming. He has taught people how to use everything from shortswords to rocket launchers. He met his wife at an SF Convention while cosplaying and they have not looked back. He was born in Sydney before marrying and moving to the Snowy Mountains where they started their family. They moved to Tasmania for the warmer winters and are not likely to ever leave it. Looking out of the window beside Cary’s computer is a sweeping view of Mount Wellington and its range.

There are to be eight novels in Cary’s Warriors of Vhastseries, all signed to a publisher and available in Australia, the USA and Europe. All of the shorter stories are set in the same world and add character background to the main characters or tell side stories that do not affect the main plot. Either a short story or part of a novella is released every month through Patreon.

Novels (Warriors of Vhast series):

  • Intimations of Evil(2015)
  • Engaging Evil(2017)
  • Clearing the Web(2018)
  • Scouring the Land (2019)
  • Gathering the Strands (2021)

Short stories and novellas (in order of events portrayed):

  • A Tale of the New Forest(2018)
  • The Stand of the Eighth Etraria (2020)
  • Banished From Hell(2018)
  • Dàhé Zhèn, a Beginning(2019)
  • Travel Broadens the Mind(2017)
  • Yakuţana’s Tale(2018)
  • A Lost Book(2018)
  • War Comes to Killton(2019)
  • It Starts (2017)
  • On the Run (2018)
  • A First Taste of Combat (2017)
  • A Priestly Dilemma (2018)
  • A Brief Encounter (2017)
  • The King’s Child(2016)
  • Astrid in the White World(2016)
  • Biancaat Twelve(2016)
  • Seeking More (2019)
  • Into Haven (2020)
  • A Burning Desire (2020)
  • Irene(2016)
  • Flight From Freehold (2019)
  • Durga Gadgil Leaves Home (2017)
  • The Curse of the Medusa (2019)
  • Two Days in Streetmor (2017)
  • A Girl and Her Bear (2018)
  • Taken (2018)
  • An Unexpected Event (2017)
  • An Obligation (2018)
  • The Arena (2019)
  • Simeon’s Tale  (2016)
  • A Trip Away (2019)
  • She’s Leaving Home (2020)
  • A Tenuous Grasp(2019)
  • Returning Home(2019)
  • No-one Notices the Jester (2020)
  • A Torch Proper (2020)
  • Rousing (2020)
  • Queen Daphne Asks Some Questions(2021)
  • Flying Out, Finding Out (2021)
  • Thorn(2016)


Various poems have appeared in collections and books around the world since 1990.


  • Fantastic Battles(2005)
  • Nylon Angel(2006)


Website (for blogs and information)

Patreon (for stories, recipes, maps and more)